Honorary Degrees


Honorary Degrees

Conferring of Honorary Degrees

The tradition of bestowing honorary degrees began in European universities in the Middle Ages. In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries there were few special awards given at Harvard; the first true honorary degree is generally considered to be the Master of Arts conferred in 1753 on Benjamin Franklin, and in April 1776, the governing boards of Harvard awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws to General George Washington. Today the governing boards grant as honorary degrees the Master of Arts (A.M.) and Doctor of Laws (LL.D.), the Doctor of Science (S.D.), Doctor of Humane Letters (L.H.D.), Doctor of Literature (Litt.D.), Doctor of Music (Mus.D.), Doctor of Divinity (D.D.), and Doctor of Arts (Art.D.).

Sixteen presidents of the United States have received honorary degrees from Harvard, some before they became president. They include George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, Theodore Roosevelt, Howard Taft, Woodrow Wilson, Herbert Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, and George Herbert Walker Bush.

Harvard Honorary Degree Recipients 1990-2015 (sorted alphabetically)
Harvard Honorary Degree Recipients 1990-2015 (grouped chronologically)

Harvard University Honorary Degree Nomination

Please send all inquiries and correspondence regarding Honorary Degrees to:

Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees
Office of the Governing Boards
Harvard University
17 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

Thank you.